skip to main content

APS Honor Recipients

Lieselotte Obst-Huebl

Lieselotte Obst-Huebl

Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf

Recipient of the 2021 Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Beam Physics Award

For outstanding experimental work in laser-driven proton acceleration establishing unprecedented performance with high-repetition rate cryogenic hydrogen jet targets, opening the path to real-world applications, and for the discovery of an all-optical method to shape proton beam profiles.

Invited Talk: Session L02.1

About the Recipient

Lieselotte Obst-Huebl received her diploma degree (equivalent to a master's degree) in Physics from Technical University Dresden (TUD) in Germany in 2014. She conducted research for her diploma thesis in the Laser-Particle Acceleration Division of Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR), where she had already gained experience as a student researcher in the field of ultra-high intensity laser-matter interaction. After her graduation from TUD, she spent five months at Laboratoire pour l'Utilisation des Lasers Intenses (LULI) of École Polytechnique in Palaiseau, France. In 2015 she returned to HZDR and TUD to pursue her Ph.D. under the supervision of Prof. Ulrich Schramm and Prof. Thomas E. Cowan. Her research at HZDR focused on high-performance laser-proton acceleration from renewable target systems, for example a continuous cryogenic hydrogen jet, as well as the investigation of laser-induced spatial structures in the accelerated proton beam profile. During her time as a doctoral student, she conducted and supported experiments at HZDR's DRACO laser, at LULI, and at the Matter in Extreme Conditions instrument of the LCLS at SLAC. After receiving her Ph.D. in 2019, Lieselotte moved to Berkeley/CA to become a postdoctoral fellow at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, where she presently conducts research directed at laser-particle acceleration at the BELLA PW laser.

About the Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Beam Physics Award

The DBP Dissertation Award recognizes doctoral thesis research of outstanding quality and achievement in beam physics and engineering.

The award was established in 1990 by the Division of Physics of Beams and is supported by Brookhaven Science Associates, Fermi Research Associates, and Southeastern Universities Research Association/Jefferson Lab.