skip to main content

APS Honor Recipients

Jaroslav Trnka

Jaroslav Trnka

University of California, Davis

Recipient of the 2021 Henry Primakoff Award for Early-Career Particle Physics

For seminal work on the computation of particle scattering amplitudes, including the development of a new mathematical approach, the amplituhedron.

Invited Talk: Session E02.3

About the Recipient

Jaroslav Trnka is an Associate Professor of Physics and a member of the Center for Quantum Mathematics of Physics (QMAP) at the University of California, Davis. Trnka has made some fundamental contributions to the development of new mathematical methods for scattering amplitudes in perturbative quantum field theory, including the discovery of the Amplituhedron, which is a geometric formulation of amplitudes in planar N=4 Super Yang-Mills theory. Recently, he has been working on novel methods for amplitudes in other quantum field theories, including QCD, perturbative gravity, or effective field theories. Before joining UC Davis, Trnka was a Prize postdoctoral fellow at the California Institute of Technology. He received his Ph.D. from Princeton University in 2013 and his undergraduate education from the Charles University in Prague, the Czech Republic, in 2008. In 2018 he received the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in particles and fields.

About the Henry Primakoff Award for Early-Career Particle Physics

The Primakoff Award recognizes outstanding contributions made by early-career physicists and helps promote the careers of exceptionally promising physicists.

The APS Division of Particles and Fields (DPF) established the award in 2011. The award is endowed by the Henry Primakoff Lecture Fund, created by members of the physics department at the University of Pennsylvania, where Henry Primakoff was a professor.