skip to main content

APS Honor Recipients

Chanda Prescod-Weinstein

Chanda Prescod-Weinstein

University of New Hampshire

Recipient of the 2021 Edward A. Bouchet Award

For contributions to theoretical cosmology and particle physics, ranging from axion physics to models of inflation to alternative models of dark energy, for tireless efforts in increasing inclusivity in physics, and for co-creating the Particles for Justice movement.

Invited Talk: Session D08.2

About the Recipient

Chanda Prescod-Weinstein (she/they) is an assistant professor of physics and core faculty in women's and gender studies at the University of New Hampshire. Born and raised in the El Sereno neighborhood of East Los Angeles, Dr. Prescod-Weinstein holds an AB in physics, astronomy, and astrophysics from Harvard College; an MS in astronomy and astrophysics from UC Santa Cruz; and a Ph.D. in physics from the University of Waterloo. She conducted her dissertation research at the Perimeter Institute and has held named fellowships at NASA and MIT. Dr. Prescod-Weinstein's research interests include theoretical work on early universe cosmology, wave dark matter phenomenology, neutron stars, and large-scale structure formation. She is a member of the Vera C. Rubin Observatory Dark Energy Science Collaboration and its Dark Matter Working Group and is a topical convener for the 2021 Snowmass Particle Physics Community Planning Exercise. Dr. Prescod-Weinstein also actively works on research in Black feminist science, technology, and society studies. She currently serves on the APS Forum on the History of Physics executive and was a founding executive member of the AAS Committee on the Status of Sexual-Orientation and Gender Minorities in Astronomy. Dr. Prescod-Weinstein is one of under 100 Black American women to earn a Ph.D. from a department of physics. Her book, The Disordered Cosmos: A Journey into Dark Matter, Spacetime, and Dreams Deferred, will be published on March 9, 2021.

About the Edward A. Bouchet Award

The Bouchet Award recognizes a distinguished minority physicist who has made significant contributions to physics research and the advancement of underrepresented minority scientists.

This award was established in 1994 by the APS Committee on Minorities in Physics, and supported for 18 years by the Research Corporation, a private foundation for the advancement of science and technology. Subsequently the Award was supported by a grant from the Alfred Sloan Foundation and is now endowed thanks to individual and institutional donations.